President Kamaui Aiona is a Maui County firefighter and former garden director of ethnobotanical Kahanu Garden in Hana, part of the National Tropical Botanical Garden, and manager of Piilanihale Heiau, a 500-year-old Hawaiian temple in the property. He holds a bachelor’s degree in Hawaiian studies and natural sciences, and a master’s degree in botany. He is proud to help nurture the self-confidence and success of Hana’s youth.

Vice President Kau‘i Kanaka‘ole is a former high school English/Hawaiian studies teacher at Hana High and Elementary School. She is a 1993 alumna of Hana School who received her bachelor’s degree in English, with a minor in Hawaiian studies, and teaching certificate in secondary education from UH Hilo. Her family runs a nonprofit organization named for her grandmother, Edith Kanaka‘ole Foundation. Being a part of her family’s hula halau, Halau o Kekuhi, has also been a contributing factor to Kau‘i’s growth and knowledge in Hawaiian culture.

Secretary Kathleen Street is a former Public Health Nurse for the Hana District, and previously supervising nurse for the former Hana Medical Center. Her nursing degree is from Maui Community College and she received her BSN degree from the University of Hawai‘i. After 31 years working for the State of Hawai‘i, she recently retired. She was raised in plantation communities of Hawai‘i and has lived in Hana for over twenty years.

Treasurer Stephan Reeve is a farmer in the Hana District. He holds degrees in soil science and cultural geography from UC Berkeley. He was basketball coach at Hana High School and relishes the opportunity to serve the youth of Hana through this inspirational and very practical program.

Solomon Kahalewai Hoopai, beloved in Hana as “Uncle Bully,” is a master stone wall builder. He has worked in the construction industry for many years as a heavy equipment operator and foundation specialist. He is a native Hawaiian, born and raised in Hana. When building stone walls, he “talks to the pohaku and they are happy because they have purpose.”

Rusty Estrella is a Hana High graduate, who served four years in the United States Air Force. He recently returned to Hana, where he now works for Hawaiian Telcom. He is honored to help shape and direct the lives of Hana’s youth.

Roy O’Connor is president of Saroc Inc., a private investment firm, and former vice-president of Hana Ranch Partners. He sits on the boards of Montana Land Reliance (president), International Wildlife Film Festival, Blackfoot Chapter of Trout Unlimited, and the Appleseed Foundation. He supports this program to offer Hana children a chance to learn a trade and build self-confidence.